Post-transaction events in Django

So, at work I’m using Django quite a bit, and I ran into a problem where I need the database transaction to be committed, and then I need to trigger additional server-side code that will act on that data.

Putting all of this into the view function with a manually managed transaction sucks, far too much code. There’s transaction middleware, but by then your view function has returned. What to do?

Simple. I added my own middleware, and I return a new property that I tag into the HttpResponse object. Python is flexible enough to allow this hack.

MIDDLEWARE_CLASSES = (
    'teleworker.lib.middleware.MslEventMiddleware',
    'django.middleware.common.CommonMiddleware',
    'django.contrib.sessions.middleware.SessionMiddleware',
    'django.contrib.auth.middleware.AuthenticationMiddleware',
    'django.middleware.transaction.TransactionMiddleware',

So in my MslEventMiddleware, I look for a new property in the response, and if it’s present, I execute the requested command, which will happen after the TransactionMiddleware has called commit.

    def process_response(self, request, response):
        if hasattr(response, 'mslevent'):
           msl.event(response.mslevent)

Simple enough. Although a real post-processing API in Django would be helpful.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

