Does anyone like ClearCase?

In moving from Nortel to Mitel, one thing that didn’t change was use of ClearCase. Initially I didn’t have to care, as my group used CVS, both at Nortel and then at Mitel. But, my group was sort of “absorbed” into the rest of the company, and now, ClearCase it is.

ClearCase is somewhat ubiquitous in the software industry. It seems that everywhere you look, some supply-management group is asking the question, “what is everyone else using?” And the answer is CC, so they decide to use it too. Hey, everyone else must be using it for a reason, right? It can’t just be because everyone else is, that would make the whole industry like lemmings, right?

Right. Since moving to ClearCase and UCM, I and many others have found nothing but headaches and lost productivity. I’ll be happy to detail my complaints in future postings, but suffice it to say that I’ve coined the term, “ClearCase: We make easy things hard.”

It’s not hard to find people who don’t like it, or think it sucks, or downright hate it. So, I must ask, is there anyone who loves ClearCase? I mean, seriously, rave about it for me. Tell me what you love about it, and not just how it sucks less than the last system you used. I want positive comments on it. Make me like it. Please.

I’ll start with a Google search on ClearCase rocks, make sure that they don’t work for IBM, and go from there.

One Comment

  1. Mark
    Posted February 26, 2007 at 2:36 pm | Permalink

    It may be hard to find Clearcase users to exclaim love for Clearcase, but you may find some admins who are making a ton of dough managing it to respond just to help keep their livlihood. However, no matter how many money bags they use to barricade their office door from the ‘haters,’ eventually it will break them.

    This YouTube video may lighten your mood. It depicts Clearcase in therapy with its most likely replacement:


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*