So close, and yet so far, The Brick shines in incompetence

Ok, so we thought it was all worked-out and on Saturday we were receiving our new refrigerator.

We went to Jaan’s baseball game, came home, and found a message waiting on our machine from…The Brick.

I paraphrase: Transglobal called us and told us to cancel sending the fridge to you on Saturday, as they’re still missing something that they need.

I went ballistic. I’m usually a very calm person, even if I find it difficult to tolerate the complete incompetence of others, and to actually yell and scream at someone on the phone is a very rare event for me. For the most part I consider it beneath me, but I just lost it tonight.

I called the store, listened to their banal hold messages about how important the customer is to them (uh huh), and finally got customer service where I completely flipped, recounting the entire week and what these utter morons have put me through. Even so, the person I was talking to wasn’t going to lift a finger to help, while I was repeatedly asking, “are you even going to send us a loaner while we’re waiting??” I told them earlier that they should have sent us a loaner on Saturday, a day after the failing fridge was identified as such, if they actually gave a shit at all about customer service. Now I was asking them, “are you even going to do that now, can you even accomplish that much??” She said she’d talk to the store manager, at which point I told her to simply put the manager on and I would ask for myself.

Silence. She puts me on hold, and comes back and says that they will send us a loaner on Saturday, but I still have to call Transglobal for a follow-up on what is going on, because they know nothing. I bit my tongue on that one, and told her that I’ll believe a loaner is arriving when I see it in my kitchen and not a second before. At this point I’ll believe they can screw up pretty much anything.

So, I call Transglobal. They hang up on me. Oh, not a good night to do that.

I call back and I get a very nice individual named Dianne, who reads the whole history of my issue, and says that she doesn’t know why the store can’t tell me what’s happening, considering that the store manager updated the ticket personally, so she obviously has access to the whole thing.

Regardless, Dianne explains what was already made clear to me earlier in the week. As this is an internal leak in the compressor, it is covered by the manufacturer, not Transglobal. So, they don’t need a TGWA number from Transglobal, they need an RA number from Frigidaire. I knew this, because earlier in the week, Lesley at Transglobal told me this. She also told me that everything was fine now and I was getting my new fridge, so why there is suddenly something missing is beyond me.

We’ve apparently gone back in time, something that Einstein insists is not possible but apparently Transglobal and The Brick can accomplish when they work together. Someone should have told Einstein that all you need is sufficient incompetence, and these guys seem to have it.

Well, my new best friend Dianne is going to call tomorrow and follow up, and hopefully we’re getting a refrigeration unit of some kind on Saturday. Unfortunately, I’m left with no faith in these people to do anything that they claim they’re going to do, so I fully expect that they will, with amazing skill, completely fuck up this entire thing for at least another week, all the while with my fridge unable to keep food cold.

Go ahead people, prove me wrong. Bring us a fridge on Saturday. Call me tomorrow Dianne, like you promised. I want to be wrong here.

Gee, I wonder if Garth, the salesperson that we spoke to today at The Brick, understands now why we cancelled the Transglobal extended warranty on the new fridge. Y’know, the mythical new fridge that I have an invoice for in my bag, that is not arriving on Saturday anymore? Do you understand now, with your 20 years in the industry, why I would rather buy a new fridge from someone else…anyone else…and carry it home on my back rather than have to talk to them ever again, or give them a single cent of my money?